Skip to content ↓

Safeguarding and child protection

Our responsibilities

Cardinal Heenan Catholic High School is aware of its duty and responsibility, which it has with regard to safeguarding and promoting the wellbeing of children and young people:

‘Our school is committed to safeguarding children and promoting children’s welfare and expects all staff, governors, volunteers and visitors to share this commitment and maintain a vigilant and safe environment. Everyone has a responsibility to act, without delay, to protect children by reporting anything that might suggest a child is being abused or neglected. It is our willingness to work safely and challenge inappropriate behaviours that underpins this commitment. The school seeks to work in partnership with families and other agencies to improve the outcomes for children who are vulnerable or in need.’

‘Safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children is everyone’s responsibility. Everyone who comes into contact with children and their families and carers has a role to play in safeguarding children. In order to fulfil this responsibility effectively, all professionals should make sure their approach is child-centred. This means that they should consider, at all times, what is in the best interests of the child.’ (DFE 2018)

Working Together to Safeguard Children (DfE 2018) provides additional guidance which makes it clear that protecting children from harm and promoting their welfare depends upon a shared responsibility and effective joint working between different agencies:

‘Everyone who works with children has a responsibility for keeping them safe. No single practitioner can have a full picture of a child’s needs and circumstances and, if children and families are to receive the right help at the right time, everyone who comes into contact with them has a role to play in identifying concerns, sharing information and taking prompt action.’


Roles and key contacts in school

Headteacher: Ms Smyth

Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL): Ms J Leech (Deputy Head) available on 0151 235 1430 or email at j.leech@cardinal-heenan.org.uk

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads (DepSL):

Mrs Gillmore: c.gillmore@cardinal-heenan.org.uk

Ms Johnson: l.johnson@cardinal-heenan.org.uk

Mr Phipps: t.phipps@cardinal-heenan.org.uk

Mrs Jackson: n.jackson@cardinal-heenan.org.uk

Mrs Fallon - SENCo: m.fallon@cardinal-heenan.org.uk

Christine Kirkham - Inclusion Officer: c.kirkham@cardinal-heenan.org.uk

Shirley Booth - Attendance//Early Help Officer: s.booth@cardinal-heenan.org.uk

Ms McCabe - Sixth Form/IAG: a.mccable@cardinal-heenan.org.uk

Safeguarding / Child Protection Governor: Carol Ann Murphy

Chair of Governors and nominated governor for dealing with allegations against the Head Teacher: Andrew Tremarco


Where can I find further information?

Further detail for parents is available in the Parents section of the website. Further detail for students is available in the Students section of the website. 


Child Protection policy

This can be found in the policies section of the website.